Fremont Area District Library

Loading palette preview

Wednesday Readers

Meeting information for the Wednesday Readers Book Group.

Our next meeting will be on
Monday, May 13th at 7:00 p.m.
in the Community Room

Salt to the Sea

Copies of Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys will be available at the Circulation Desk prior to the meeting date. For more information about this group, contact Jill Hansen-Aune at the Reference Desk, 231-928-0256.

From the back cover:
World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people—adults and children alike—aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloffthe greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

Past Book Group Selections
April 2019 - Poetry by Gwen Frostic
March 2019 - Road to Little Dribbling by Bill Bryson
February 2019 - The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett
December 2018 - Truce by Jim Murphy
November 2018 - The Summer Before the War by Helen Simonson and A Star for Mrs. Blake by April Smith
September 2018 - Dear Bully: 70 Authors Tell Their Stories
August 2018 - The Troubled Man by Henning Mankell
July 2018 - The Snowman by Jo Nesbo
June 2018 - Smilla's Sense of Snow by Peter Hoeg
May 2018 - The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer
April 2018 - The Cuckoo's Calling by Robert Galbraith
March 2018 - A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman
February 2018 - X: A Novel by Ilyasah Shabazz
January 2018 - The Warmth of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson
December 2017 - Gingerbread Cookie Murder by Joanne Fluke
November 2017 - 11/22/63 by Stephen King
September 2017 - The Turner House by Angela Flournoy
August 2017 - Peace Like a River by Leif Enger
July 2017 - Wonder by R.J. Palacio
June 2017 - The Blind Side by Michael Lewis
May 2017 - All the Stars in the Heavens by Adriana Trigiani
April 2017 - Where'd You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple
March 2017 - Betrayal by John Lescroart
February 2017 - Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
December 2016 - A Christmas Escape by Anne Perry
November 2016 - A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson
October 2016 - Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson
September 2016 - A Cold Day in Paradise by Steve Hamilton
August 2016 - The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown
July 2016 - The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
June 2016 - A Fine Summer's Day by Charles Todd
May 2016 - The Shoemaker's Wife by Adriana Trigiani
April 2016 - Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
March 2016 - The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness
February 2016 - The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion
January 2016 - A Study in Scarlet; The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle