Statue
Contact Us
About Us
Catalog
Online Resources
Kids' Pages
Teen Pages
Reference Services
Local History
Upcoming Events
Non-Profit Resources
Donations and Volunteering
Michigan eLibrary
Meeting Rooms
Local Links
Friends of the Library
Site Index


Search library site
Search the Internet

Google

 

New Library Hours
(Begin June 1, 2011)

Monday, Tuesday, 
& Thursday
 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Wednesday & Friday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
   10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Sunday
Closed

Job Search Guide

Job Searching Career Information

New Career Books

Resume Help

Filing for Unemployment

Job Search

Michigan Talent Bank
Search a database of strictly Michigan employers.  You can search by several options, but you must first select a location.

Michigan Live - Careers
Allows you to search the Help Wanted ads of several state newspapers, including the Grand Rapids Press, The Muskegon Chronicle and the Holland Sentinel.

Career Builder.Com
A database of jobs throughout the nation, searchable by field and location.

Monster
A widely advertised database of jobs from the entire nation.

Careers/ Employment by MEL
Created by the Michigan Electronic Library. Provides job search resources as well as career information divided into categories, such as Internships, Government Jobs, Automotive and International Jobs. There is also a section of on tips and guides for finding a job, salary and location information and tips on writing resumes.

Local Sites

Grand Rapids Help Wanted Muskegon Help Wanted

Resume and Cover Letter Help

Resume Tutor
The Resume Tutor is designed by the University of Minnesota to help you design  your resume. It is an interactive workbook that hopes to make resume-building a bit more fun.

Resume Advice from College Journal
Provides several essays on issues relating to resumes, cover letters and interviews including unusual circumstances for each.

Interview & Resume Resources from JobWeb
More advice for resumes and interviews.  Some great tips for those really tough questions.

Career Information

Michigan Career Portal
This site offers help and advice on smart career and business decisions.  This site is a bridge to state and national employment, career, education, training, and business resources and services.

Mel.org: Careers and Employment
Links to websites on career information, job search databases and resume help.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives.  Revised every two years, the Handbook describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.

Michigan Occupational Information System (MOIS)
MOIS is sponsored by the Ingham Intermediate School District.  It provides online career information and links to sites that help the job searcher find the career with which they will be happy. There is also training available for the products that they provide. 

MAPP- Motivation Appraisal of Personal Potential
This test reveals what naturally motivates you and suggests careers that may be a good fit.

Salary Calculator
This provides a comparison of salaries between two cities.  It shows how much you would need to make in a second city to live in the same way as you do at your current salary. 

FADL College Planning Guide

Return to Reference Services Home Page

 

 

FADL Home | Contact Us | General Information | Catalog | Online Databases | Youth Services | Teen Resources | Reference Services | Local History | Upcoming Events | Non-Profit Resources | Michigan eLibrary | Meeting Rooms | Local Links | Friends of the Library | Site Index


Website updated November 13, 2009

If you have any questions, comments or suggestions, please feel free to email us at fadl@fremontlibrary.net.

Copyright © 2008. All Rights Reserved.
Fremont Area District Library, 104 E. Main Street, Fremont, MI 49412
Voice:  231-924-3480  Fax:  231-924-2355
fadl@fremontlibrary.net

The entrance to our parking lot is on Merchant Street.

Lakeland Libraries